Heirloom Reborn

Though I did not make this I had a small hand in it and I just had to share it with you knitters
Cable Knit Chair
This is a project more than ten years in the making. It all started on a trip to La Jolla, CA when my mom & I found a wonderful little knit shop. I’m sure we found some great yarns but what we both took away from this visit was that we just HAD to cover a chair in knitting. They had a lovely chair all decked out in its own knitwear!
Then my mom remembered a suitcase she found in my Great Aunt’s garage, it was full of unfinished cable work pieces and parts. In fact two long pieces and a 3rd piece was still on the needles! Though she inherited these gorgeous pieces she had no idea what to do with them nor had the heart to throw them out so there they sat for YEARS.

Then I bought her a plain Ikea TULLSTA chair -

after some upholstery staples, a lot of sewing, and even some duck tape…

I now have chair ENVY!

photo(103)
What a perfect addition to her knitting parlor.
Thank you Aunt Louise!!
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Heirloom Reborn”

  1. rob Says:

    ahhh….duct tape. your dad would be pleased!!!

  2. Geraldine Says:

    so beautiful!

  3. Susan Thelander-Bell Says:

    Beautiful!!
    – I have tried to design a pattern but no luck – like to share your pattern?

    • yarnleftovers Says:

      There is a pattern for something similar in Simple Knits with a Twist by Erika Knight. You can see it here The one shown above is not made this way – my mom inherited what looked to be long panels of an unfinished afghan. She actually used the panels more like fabric and cut and sewed with a sewing machine. It took 10 years for her to get brave enough to try but only a few days to complete once she got ambitious last week. She also used some upholstery pins and good ole duck tape.

  4. althea Says:

    Awesome! Now I wish I hadn’t given away the Lopi cable coat I made and then grew out of. Didn’t think of repurposing it. Great job and thank heaven for duct tape.

  5. Susan Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing I have ordered a book today :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

