Knitting Emergency

I’m off traveling again for work this week.
So Tuesday I hopped on a plane to Los Angeles. I had plenty of work to do on my computer but there is that wonderful non-guilt period of every flight where you can’t use any electronic devices! So I grabbed my knitting all ready to settle in to some calm therapy. I pulled out the 2nd EZ November Moccasin Sock and to my HORROR I only found 3 DPNs! Panic ensued as we hurled down the runway.What am I going to do all day stuck in planes and airport layovers?

I had knit my initial sock cuff flat per EZ’s recommendations. But this sock I decided I would be lazy and knit the cuff in the round.

I only have 3 needles with me for a week, now what should I do?

  • Rip the few inches out and knit flat with 2 needles. NOT!
  • Press the call button to announce that I had a knitting emergency. Is there a doctor knitter on the plane?   (Turns out that this was not even funny because later we did actually have a medical emergency) NOT!
  • Break one of the needles NOT!
  • Gibby up a circular needle using tape, needles, yarn, computer cables… What else do I have?
  • Knit in the round on 3 needles. (I did this for a few inches and decided this was just not very calming)
  • Give up and work on my presentations.
  • Land in Los Angeles and immediately find the closest knitting store.  OF COURSE!
Tidbit: Don’t change your knitting bag the night before a trip. Fix up your travel knitting bag a few days before and actually knit from it. 🙂  What a novel idea!
Tidbit: Use Rollie Stitch Keepers to keep ALL your needles together. Or even try this other thrifty solution.

 

 

 

 

Welcome to the Athenaeum

Wanderings:
I’m staying in Pasadena at Caltech’s Athenaeum which is quite a treat. I just wish that our meeting could have been closer to the date of the Rose Parade! I walked into the ‘lobby’ to this most amazing Holiday display. I did a double take, Am I in the right place? This is a far cry from some of my usual work related haunts of Primm, NV, Salton Sea, & Sioux Falls.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

