A thinking knitter…

EZ November Moccasin Sock

I finished this month’s moccasin sock just in time for our first light dusting of snow. Now I suppose I need to make the one to match or my poor Sock Lover will be a little chilly!

EZ suggest that ‘the thinking knitter can glean two different pairs..” from the November chapter. I’ve read the chapter over and over again and I am obviously not a thinking knitter since I do not have a clue what the 2nd sock pattern is that she hints about.

For the second sock I have decided to knit the cuff in the round and then switch to straights for the top of the foot shaping. Not because I am a thinking knitter but rather a lazy knitter and I really did not enjoy the finishing process of seaming up the cuff.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A thinking knitter…”

  1. robin Says:

    So how do you think these would work in a ski boot? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. yarnleftovers Says:

    I think they would be nice and toe-sty.
    I would think the high heel back would be good for the extra wear and tear that a ski sock might encounter. Not that I would know anything about a ski boot. Sounds like you will have to test that out and report back. Although the construction seemed a bit bizarre they were really easy. The cuff can be knit flat and then you switch to circulars -so no need for 4-5 double pointed needles. I know there are people who get frustrated with dpns. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • robin Says:

      honestly? i was thinking Christmas gift! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • yarnleftovers Says:

        Me too! Send me your measurements. Heel to toe length, height – bottom of heel to desired height on calf or to wherever you want the cuff, and maximum calf circumference.
        Better yet pretend you are in Kindergarten and trace around the bottom of your foot.

  3. cindy Says:

    I love the picture – is that the windshield of your new subaru??

    • yarnleftovers Says:

      Yes, that’s the hood of my new blue subaru. My poor Sock Lover just shook his head when I said, “Wait don’t start the car! The snow will melt.”
      I love taking pictures of things on top of it. I’ll have to post some I took back in the Fall at Rhinebeck Bright blue with white fluffy clouds.

Leave a Reply

