October 1st

OCTOBER; THE MONTH when knitting really starts coming into its own again.
(Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitter’s Almanac, 1974)

I love the month of October; there is just something in the clear crisp winds that call out to me,

“YOU MUST GO BUY WOOL.”

Girls Day Out Shopping at Rhinebeck

So, I listened to my inner voice and kicked of this season by attending the Finger Lakes Fiber Festival in search of materials for the October EZ project. What a beautiful weekend! I hope to continue the pursuit of fine fibers well into October at:

If you have been to any of these events you will know why I love October!

The EZ September project was Nether Garments for which I made a pair of leggings for my 7 year old daughter. The other project featured in the September chapter was to teach a child how to knit a potholder. I tackled this with my older daughter and half way through she announced…

that her square was NOT to be used as a potholder but as an afghan square!

I think my daughter is on to something! Now I know that not everyone out there is going to want to make each month’s project so I think I have another option for you to consider. I am going to try to come up with an afghan square per month that is based on some of the techniques used in that month’s chapter.

For example, October’s EZ project is an Opened-Collared Pullover that features i-cord border and raglan shoulder decreases. I’ll work through some of these techniques first on an afghan square and post my progress and recipe.

Who knows by the end of the

year / EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac we may have an entire

EZ inspired afghan.

So dig out your EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac or buy the newly released EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac Commemorative Edition.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

