Sanity Test

Here’s the lst legging

Today I continued on with making the increases at the inseam.

I increased every 4th row until I reached 87 stitches (a few less than my calculated gauge determined).

Then I continued to knit straight for a few inches.

I thought I was all done when I reached my magic overall length of 19inches (from ankle to crotch) but when it was tried on it was way to short.

I needed to knit another inch or two. I took it off the model and rechecked my measurements. Yup- I measured 19inches from CO to crotch. I measured my model again. It took me a few minutes but I soon came to realize the obvious:

Lesson 3: If you knitted fabric stretches horizontally (as in to hug the leg) it has to shrink vertically. Conservation of Mass or something.

Phew, now I have one leg done the next one must go much faster!

Leave a Reply

